My first semester in review

After spending the afternoon in bed with my cat sipping on hot chocolate while the rain poured down for hours , I found it was time to look back on my first semester on graduating on my German school .

First of all , I am graduating next year , 2017 on a small school . My main classes that I choose were English , French and History ( also German and mathematics) .

Timetable : 

As each and everybody of my class has an entirely different timetable I was quite scared yet exited to receive my own . Turns out , I was quite lucky , and received a timetable with afternoon classes three times a week . This resulted in me being able to be at home two afternoons per school week , which turned out to be a huge relief .

Teachers :

Teachers have been quite interesting, but overall I am okay with the teachers I got . I already know most of them and it has been fun getting to know the newer ones . A negative experienced that has stuck in my mind is though , that some teachers get quite mean and personal when their class tests get a bad average mark . I have been feeling quite offended at times , as they would sometimes say that we wouldn’t work at all for our success , but then we were told to sometimes focus on our main classes when things get rough.

Grades and exams :

Well there have been ups and downs  , but clearly more ups and downs . In our school system you could be can reach 15 points per exam . The average of my grades has been 9.7 which is about the equivalent of a B- . Overall I am content with my grades , it was a ton of work , but in most cases it definitely paid off . At times I have been very scared to have failed an exam but it mostly turned out to have been fine . I only failed one exam , which was chemistry , but I got up to 5 points on my report card , what means I passed .

Have I been jealous ? Incredibly ! It is very hard for me not to get furious and angry when others get better grades than I do , especially when they didn’t work half as hard as I did . But then I know that some people are just naturally talented and some are really working incredibly hard and devoting all their time to it .

Another thing linked to exams has been the stress and the pressure , it has really gotten to me , and I want to deal better with it next year . On the other hand , all this time I have been missing only 4 school days , which in my eyes , is definitely a success !

 

Activities outside school : 

Well , I basically abandoned all my outside activities like ballet and archery and stopped them completely . In grade 9 my grades suddenly dropped quite a lot, from then on , it was all about priorities and for me , school came first . So I started spending more time at home and my grades went up again  – problem solved . And in case you are wondering , yes I miss them sometimes, and I wonder often if it is all worth it , but I guess only time will tell and the way I am going will be able to open a lot of doors . 

Friends :

For this one I can say : I lost some friends , and I gained some friends . I was very scared to loose my best friend but the key was motivation and interest from both sides and nothing changed .

 

So , that is it for today . IF you want , leave me comment how your school life is going , or if you are working or whatever you are doing . Also tips how to survive these last two years are always more than appreciated , much love 

X

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar